My Writing Story (Part 1)

IMG_9239

How I Became a Writer

Writing came to me as an unexpected pastime. Prior to writing Welcome to the Underworld, I possessed no ambition to be a writer. In fact, I would go as far as saying that there was a time that I truly dreaded writing. I had other ambitions in mind and writing stories did not even make it onto my radar.

That all changed when I found myself staying home sick from school. I did not know what to do with myself that day. I had been so used to countless activities occupying my days that when it came time to rest, I did not how to do it.

I can remember that moment very clearly.

I was staring out at the lake outside my living room and this crazy thought came to me: “I want to write a story about a couple who are hand-cuffed together.” There were other aspects of this impromptu inspiration that made me want to write this story, but the driving force behind it was that I really wanted to bring this couple to life. I felt like they were trapped inside me and the only way to release them was to write out their story.

I opened a word doc and the first thing I was wrote was “Our world is different from the rest.” There was no rationale behind it. It was simply the first thing that came into my mind. And after I wrote that quote, the rest felt like magic.

I could not stop writing. Ideas after ideas came to me and the next thing I knew, this whole new world was created in a word doc. I was amazed that I was the one who wrote it. Me–the one who did not even like to write. I wrote the entire day and when it came time to shut everything down so I can prepare for another day of school, I felt this sadness rain over me. I did not want to stop writing–not even to sleep.

Looking back now, I could never be more thankful for that moment, for it was truly the moment that I found what I was born to do.

So there you have it. Part 1 of my writing story. I will post Part 2 on Sunday, January 10, which will focus on how I started sharing my stories and how I met some of my first readers <3.

Until then, thank you so much for reading. If you have stories of how you discovered your passion in life, please share them with me in the comments below. I would love to hear your stories too!

Lots of love,

Con

Official Author FB Page: Con’s FB Page
Personal Author FB Page: Con’s Personal FB Page
Twitter: Contemplate13
Instagram: Contemplate13
“Ask Me Anything” on Tumblr: Ask Con Questions

 

One thought on “My Writing Story (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

