My Writing Story (Part 2)

IMG_9266

How I Started Sharing My Stories

I started sharing my works on a site called Soompi in May of 2008. At the time, I had 12 Chapters of Welcome to the Underworld under my belt and I remember being so nervous. I had very little experience in writing and the thought of sharing a story that I poured my heart and soul into terrified me. I feared that people would hate it and I feared that no one would want to read it.

In addition to all that trepidation, I also felt excitement. As a writer, you write for yourself, but I feel that for many, we would always have that innate urge to share our works with others. It’s difficult to be a storyteller with no one to tell the story to =). I remember telling myself that all I needed was one reader to love the story. All I needed was one reader and I would continue to write this story and share it until its completion.

WTTU-Anniversary (1)

Screenshot from the Welcome to the Underworld thread on Soompi

I had posted 8 Chapters within a span of a day. That was how excited I was to share my story. As expected, I did not become an “overnight sensation.” I barely had any responses on the forum topic I created for Welcome to the Underworld. But that didn’t matter to me because I had two readers who liked my story: jaemei and red anjool. I would never forget how happy it made me when I saw that they had responded to my thread. They encouraged me to keep on writing and posting.

And that was I did.

I happily kept writing my story and I kept sharing it. Next thing I knew, new readers were slowly trickling in. I couldn’t believe that there were actually readers who were waiting for me to post so they could find out what would happen to my characters. One reader even made a fan-made trailer video for my story while another made a fan-made poster for Welcome to the Underworld. I was stunned. I was already over-the-moon over the simple fact that people were taking the time to read my story–I couldn’t believe that readers were actually spending their precious time creating something special for my story.

The rest from then on was history.

I completed Welcome to the Underworld, started posting the first 13 Chapters of An Eternity of Eclipse, announced my plans for publishing, and was even fortunate enough to be featured for an interview on Soompi.com.

I look back at that time in my writing life with great fondness. The Soompi community will always have a special place in my heart. I grew up as a young writer there, I shared my first story there, and I met some of the most wonderful people there (my two book cover artists and many of my beta-readers were readers that I met there <3). Had it not been for the encouragement of my Soompi readers and their incredible support, I don’t know if I would have published my books or even kept writing stories.

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 12.43.22 PM

Reader Photos of their WTTU Books/eBooks

Fast forward a few years later, I’ve published five books and am getting ready to publish my sixth book, An Eternity of Dead Sun, in 15 days. I’ve been fortunate enough to meet so many beautiful new readers who just started reading my books and am fortunate enough to still have many of my Soompi readers on this adventure with me. It would be an understatement to say that my life had changed since that fateful day where I decided I wanted to write a story about a couple who were handcuffed together.

So with all of that said, whether you’ve been a reader since my Soompi days or have joined the journey after reading my published books, I want to thank you all the same. Writing can be hard, but being able to interact and share my work with you makes the hardship worth it. It is a gift to have you all on this adventure with me ❤

It’s been a crazy and surreal ride so far and I have a feeling that it’s only just beginning. I can’t wait to make this year another exciting year with more books from the AEOE series and hopefully a new series with Petals to Wonderland as well. Until the next blog, take care, and if you’re reading a story from a writer who is sharing their beloved work with you, please let them know how much you’re enjoying it. You never know. It might change their life =)<3

Lots of love,

Con

If you haven’t already, read Part 1 of My Writing Story: here

Official Author FB Page: “Like” Con’s FB Page
Personal Author FB Page: Con’s Personal FB Page
Twitter: Contemplate13
Instagram: Contemplate13
“Ask Me Anything” on Tumblr: Ask Con Questions
One thought on “My Writing Story (Part 2)

  1. Linda says:

    I always enjoy reading about people’s beginnings and how they came to pursue their passions in life either by chance or humble beginnings. I have enjoyed the WTTU series and look forward to your upcoming works, Con. Keep on writing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

